On Blogging

I have never wanted to be a blogger. To be honest, I find it to be a very egotistical habit. The presumption that your thoughts are special enough to merit others’ attention feels very self-centered and self-important, and I’ve never felt the need to share my personal diary with the world. (Not to mention the fact that any guy who wants to ask me out can first google me and discover my innermost secrets without even having to ask for my number.)

However, it’s 2013, and times they are a’changin’. I’ve resolved to keep a weekly blog for the following reasons:

  1. Unlike food, water, shelter, or any of the other necessities of life, thoughts don’t diminish by being shared. Thoughts are limitless, and can only grow and develop when they’re allowed to interact with more participants. So let’s share! Please feel free to comment on any of my posts, or email me at sleeplessscheherezade@gmail.com if you’d prefer to have a less public conversation.
  2. I tend to be rather resistant to technology, and it’s about time that I embrace the changing world. One of my goals for this year is to become more technologically savvy, and what better way to do that than by creating and maintaining my own website?
  3. If I could work anywhere in the world, I think I’d work for Ted Talks. But to apply to one of their internships, they ask if you keep a blog or regularly publish your writing in other sources. So instead of applying to intern for Ted now, I’ll keep a blog for a year, then apply.
  4. I have horrible insomnia, and usually spend hours lying wide-awake in bed every night. So I might as well make use of my time. One of my high school teachers had a term for papers written the night before the due date: “One night stand essays”. He chose this term because they were written with passion, but you’re afraid to look at them the next morning. So think of this blog a series of one-night stand essays, and hopefully if you like it, it will turn into something more and you’ll come back for seconds.

With that in mind, here are a few notes:

  • Unless stated otherwise, all of the photography that I publish on this blog is my own work. (Don’t give me too much credit – I’m not a special photographer in the slightest, I’ve just been lucky enough to see some really beautiful things.) If you like a particular photo, feel free to email me and I’ll tell you its story.
  • I still have mixed feelings on the whole publicity thing, so I’ve chosen not to publish my real name here. My friends and family reading this blog should know who I am, and if you’re a normal person and you’re curious to learn more about me for reasons that are totally not creepy, then feel free to email me and ask, and I’ll likely open up. However, to unveil one basic layer of mystery, I will tell you this: I am old enough to drink in the United States, but too young to rent a car. Despite living in Seattle, I do fit into the possibly outdated, categorically dichotomous gender labeling system (translation: I’m a girl).
  • I know it’s not trendy, but I’m a bit old-fashioned, and I’ve chosen to reserve nudity for select situations involving only myself and one partner, and usually with the lights out. So while I am excited to share my thoughts via this blog, I can’t promise that I’ll share them all. Think of it as me keeping my lingerie on over my innermost thoughts. A woman has to maintain some level of mystery, right? So all of these posts are expressions of my thoughts (at least to the extent that one can claim ownership over one’s neural pathways that have been fired after receiving inspiration from an outside source), but I also reserve the right to keep a few things to myself. However, if you have questions or would like to continue the conversation, I’m sure you’ve gathered by now that I’m available by email.

Thank you for taking the time to listen to my tree fall in the woods. I hope that my posts are able to add a layer of dimension and nuance to your thinking, just as the artists, authors, friends, teachers, and thinkers whom I know I’ll be quoting often have added layers of dimension to my thinking and experiences.

Shoe Plants 1

4 thoughts on “On Blogging

  1. As I also maintain a weekly blog, you likely regard me as an egoist. I suspect that we are acquainted beyond the blogosphere. Rest assured that I will protect your identity and will resist the efforts of those who may utilize enhanced interrogation techniques to encourage me to reveal it. I wish you Godspeed, (or Godlessspeed?) on your wandering journey into caverns and crevices that have heretofore been unexplored.

    • My Dearest Doctor,
      You are correct that we are well acquainted beyond the virtual realm of the blogosphere — clearly our mutual contact has not pledged to protect my identity quite as much as you so valiantly have pledged. I appreciate your encouragement on my wandering journey through heretofore unexplored caverns and crevices. However, please take heed that perhaps I would be more mentally stable (albeit much less interesting) had I not been raised by a man who is still convinced that you and he met during clandestine training for Operation 1963.

      • Oh my anonymous assumptionologist! I shall not be tempted by the bait that thee dangleth before me. Nice try. I do not stipulate that our ‘mutual contact’ – if such a contact exists- violated any confidentiality agreements that may or may not exist. Clearly, my expertise and experience in counterespionage and cryptography overqualifies me in uncovering the identities of those amateurs who naively think they can escape detection by seasoned and scarred professionals.

        Come out from under the penumbra of the umbrella and show thy face!

        And, it was 1962 just after the Cuban Missile Crisis. Do some fact checking.

      • I’ve been trying to think of a witty response to this, and I just can’t top yours. I bow to you, master cryptographer, and I salute your dry wit and cunning sense of humor. (I might add that I applaud your chic elegance, charm, and classic good looks, but if I were to go that far then I might as well tell you that the light within me honors and recognizes the light within you, which is what we say when we say “Namaste”. But I know how much you’d laugh if I told you “Namaste”, so I will therefore refrain from complimenting your elegant charm and classic good looks, and will leave your ego to bask in the glory of its own cunning.) Please take solace in knowing that I will emerge from the penumbra of my umbrella as soon as the sun shineth — which could be a while, considering my current location and the earth’s current place in relation to our central star. As far as the Cuban Missile Crisis goes — I’m sorry, but you do not have sufficient security clearance for me to discuss that particular operation with you. We lost a lot of good men out there.

Leave a Reply

